Baby Steps

As I mentioned in my last post, I have been having some health issues going on for the last week or so.

It turns out there was nothing wrong with my Gallbladder, however, an Upper GI revealed several health issues. I have a hiatal hernia (my stomach is herniating into my esophagus, I have stomach polyps, and I have scarring of the tissue in my esophagus from acid reflux.

At 27 I am on daily Prilosec for reflux and I’m on the “GERD” diet. I cannot have fatty food, fried foods, fast foods, coffee (this is killing me!), caffeine, citrus fruits or juices, or spicy food.

But let me get off the pity pot for a minute.

I am feeling better, overall. I feel that I have more energy, I’m not drowsy by mid-day. I feel a lot better than before when I gorged myself on whatever I damn well pleased.

I have begun walking at work and in the evenings. Joshua and I took Abbey on a walk to the park last night; this is promoting health to my kiddos too! That is the best part.

It has taken a lot of adjustment to not just pop a cookie here and a snicker there and to bring an entire thermos full of coffee to work and drink the whole thing, but I am doing okay.

I am also down to 178 from 187 due to my drastic eating habit adjustment! I am feeling that this could have been a blessing in disguise.

It’s time to get back to work now, but I will definitely be posting tomorrow, probably at night. I want to write a little more about the specifics of my GERD diet and how I’m following it so that others can have some tips for living with Acid Reflux and other stomach issues.

~ Angela

Leave a Reply

